What Is Worse: Failing Or Never Trying?

I think that never trying is way worse than failing. If you fail at something, at least you can say that you tried. And in that aspect, you know (hopefully) what to do to make the next time a success, or get closer to that success. I would like to give the example of me, and using my sewing machine for the first time. I received it as a Christmas present, and the first thing I did was laugh about it. I’ve never sewn! But, one day, as I was looking at it in it’s box, I thought, “What the hell… I’ll give it a whirl.” And so I did, and I almost quit because I was aggravated; the thread kept pulling out of the needle and I had to keep re-threading, I kept forgetting to put the presser foot down before I started to sew, I didn’t have the hand eye coordination to make a straight line, I’ve smashed my fingers with the presser foot (ridiculous, I know). I was failing, and I didn’t like it, but I kept on trucking through it with tutorials from Pinterest and Youtube and contacting family members who know how to sew to ask certain questions. I rented (and kept renewing for like 4 months) a Martha Stewart sewing “encyclopedia” and familiarized myself with different stitches, fabrics, and so on, so forth. And now, I am a pretty good sewer, in my opinion. I’ve made a few things: a bag, a wristlet, 2 pillowcase dresses for my nieces (so simple), shorts for my son and nephew, and a shirt for myself. And, I practiced, on old material, to get my lines better. There are plenty of things that are still out of my reach, but I plan to get there some day. I haven’t sewed anything for a few months, and I am very anxious to get back to it. So, I totally think never trying is definitely worse than failing. What do you think is worse? What have you tried and failed at?

Image

Liam wearing the shorts I made him.

3 thoughts on “What Is Worse: Failing Or Never Trying?

Talk To Me!

