Spaghetti Squash

image

I am always looking for healthy, but flavorful food to make. I had been interested in trying spaghetti squash for a long while, and when they were on sale at Kroger, I thought, why in the hell not?! Let me tell you, it is amazing. My husband and son love it just as much! Low carbs/calories, tastes good, and has a fun texture. Here’s what I did:

I cut the squash down the middle and gutted the seeds and slimy shit that are always in these kind of vegetables. And then I seasoned with salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning. I had Nick start the crock pot when he came home for lunch because they only needed to simmer in a small amount of water (maybe a cup-cup and a half) for four hours on low.

When I got home, I sautéed my mushrooms, peppers, garlic, and onion and then added the burger to brown.

While that was cooking, I forked out the flesh of the squash. Take your fork around the circle when it is cut this way. If you fork down, it’s mush.

After burger is browned and grease is drained, add in the sauce and “spaghetti” and cook till sauce is cooked through (you know).

This is amazingly delicious, and I cannot wait to cook other recipes with this wonderful veggie. I hope I can grow these in my region!!

2 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash

  1. I made spaghetti squash once about 30 years ago, wasn’t particularly imaginative and decided it wasn’t worth the trouble. You have given me reason to try it again. This looks yummy! Thanks for the inspiration.

    Like

    • I love it! I am about to post about this healthy red bean and rice I made a couple of weeks ago. It was so good, and I thought about you the whole time I was cooking, “Renee would be proud.” Lol.

      Like

Talk To Me!

